2018 Mayor's Youth Committee graduation

May 9, 2018 at 12:09 pm

Congratulations to the 2018 Mayor's Youth Committee (MYC) graduates! This year, 25 juniors and seniors from public and charter high schools throughout Mesa completed the program that began in September. MYC is made up of an elect group of students nominated by their school principals and counselors to participate in the competitive application process.

Throughout the program, students learn the ins and outs of city government, research and present solutions to real city issues and participate in community events.

"I am very proud of all these students and the leadership role they have taken," Mayor John Giles said. "They understand the importance of civic participation in governance and are dedicated to giving back to their community."

The students interact with the Mayor, City Councilmembers and City departments such as, Transportation; Economic Development; Solid Waste and Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities while working on assignments.

This year, MYC was tasked with finding a way to help us reach our NextMesa. The teams researched city services and looked for ways to improve them or created new a new project, development or initiative complete with timeline, budget and graphics.

The teams presented their ideas to Mayor Giles who then selected two winning teams.

The projects all focused on youth employment and helping teens get the experience they need to enter the workforce. The winning teams pitched a Mesa Career Discovery Camp and a youth community service web portal. Both teams were treated to a Spring Training game at Hohokam Stadium.

The 2018 Mayor's Youth Committee Graduates are: Caden Bethel, Rebekah Black, Amber Blain*, Michael Botchway, Savannah Brown*, Tristan Covington*, Sophia Daly, Cody Daniels*, Michael Fairbanks, Leslie Flores*, Grant Foster, Summer Gautier, Morgan Goodyear, KessiAnne Hansen, Ethan Joerz, Jim Larsen, Sophia Larsen, Katelyn LeSueur, Jacob Martinez, Dharma Olander*, Brooke Rector, Pilar Rivera, Nathanael Semadeni*, Francesca Valli-Doherty*, Cory Westad*

*Graduating with Honors

For more information about the Mayor's Youth Committee go to www.mesaaz.gov/city-hall/mayor-council/mayor-john-giles/mayor-s-youth-committee.

Mayor's Office
Contact: Melissa Randazzo
Tel. (480) 644-3219