Election Results

2020 Mayor's Youth Committee graduation

May 14, 2020 at 10:02 am

Congratulations to the 2020 Mayor's Youth Committee (MYC) graduates! This year, 21 juniors and seniors from public and charter high schools throughout Mesa completed the program that began in September. MYC is made up of an elect group of students nominated by their school principals and counselors to participate in the competitive application process.

Throughout the program, students learn the ins and outs of city government, research and present solutions to real city issues and participate in community events.

"I am very proud of all these students and the leadership role they have taken," Mayor John Giles said. "They understand the importance of civic participation in governance and are dedicated to giving back to their community."

The students interact with the Mayor, City Councilmembers and City departments such as, Transportation; Public Safety; Solid Waste and Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities while working on assignments.

This year, MYC was tasked with finding a way to help us reach our NextMesa. The teams researched city services and looked for ways to improve them by creating a new project, development or initiative complete with timeline, budget and graphics.

The teams presented their ideas to Mayor Giles and a panel of City representatives who then selected the winning team.

The projects ranged from homelessness and teen counseling to school supply drives and public spaces for youth. The winners pitched a life skills program for young adults and was treated to a Spring Training game at Hohokam Stadium.

The 2020 Mayor's Youth Committee Graduates are: Asia Bach, Alexandra Cahill*, Mallory Carlson*, Emilie Dunaway, Rachel Early*, Francisco Enriquez Calcqao*, Amanda Freeman, Sylvana Fuentes*, Miles Gordon*, Jaycee Graffius*, Chance Herbert*, Ben Kussmann, Jennifer Pino, Spencer Porter, Catherine Prus, Kyanna Ramos, Shelbie Rash, Ryley Scantlebury*, Pratik Shah*, Sam Stockfisch*, Heather Vogler*

*Graduating with Honors

For more information about the Mayor's Youth Committee go to www.mesaaz.gov/city-hall/mayor-council/mayor-john-giles/mayor-s-youth-committee.

Mayor's Office
Contact: Melissa Randazzo
Tel. (480) 644-3219